APhA Celebrates Pharmacists’ Contributions to Increasing U.S. Immunization Rates and Improving Health

Share This Page
Recipients of 2018 APhA Immunization Champion Awards announced

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) today announced the selection of recipients of its 2018 Immunization Champions Awards recognizing individuals and organizations who have made extraordinary contributions toward improved vaccination rates within their communities.

 “The APhA Immunization Champion Awards program helps us tell the story regarding pharmacists’ contributions to and impact on the health of communities and as valued members of the immunization neighborhood, according to Mitchel Rothholz, RPh, MBA, APhA Chief Strategy Officer.  This year is the 10th anniversary for presentation of the awards.  We applaud the more than 320,000 pharmacists trained to administer vaccines and who are making a difference in their communities.”

The APhA Immunization Champion Awards consist of six categories of recognition, including individual practitioners, friend of pharmacy’s immunization efforts, corporation/institution, partnership with other health care providers and public health, community outreach, and pharmacy team member. Nominees were evaluated based on the areas of impact, collaboration, originality, and overcoming challenges and creating opportunities for pharmacists. APhA also recognizes Merck, Sanofi Pasteur, and Seqirus for their support of this awards and recognition program

The 2018 Immunization Champions Awards are as follows:


National Winners

  • Andrew DeMotto, PharmD, BCPS, NCPS (Whiteriver, AZ)
  • Holly E Gurgle, PharmD, BCACP, CDE (Salt Lake City, UT)

Honorable Mention

  • Tuong-Lan Nguyen, PharmD (Broken Arrow, OK)
  • Luis Rosado, PharmD (Morovis, PR)


National Winner

  • Kimberly Battreall, LPN (Omaha, NE)


National Winner

  • William L. Atkinson, MD, MPH (Saint Paul, MN)


National Winner

  • Albertsons Companies (Boise, ID)

Honorable Mention

  • Fred's Pharmacy (Memphis, TN)


National Winner

  •  Project VACCINATE (Seattle, WA)


National Winner

  • Reeves-Sain Drug Store (Murfreesboro, TN)

Honorable Mention

  • Brandy Turner, PharmD (Richmond, VA)


National Winner

  • Cecilia Dudero, CPhT (Santa Clara, CA)

The American Pharmacists Association established these special awards in 2008, and made the first presentations in 2009, to recognize the value and extraordinary contributions pharmacists provide to improving the vaccination rates in their communities.

Pharmacists, in collaboration with physicians, public health officials, and other immunization stakeholders, are recognized as important members of the immunization neighborhood, with millions of vaccinations administered by pharmacists each year.

Ad Position: 
Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content